Scallon Cup revived


After a pause of 41 years the Scallon Cup was revived last Saturday at Mullaghmeen when Enniskillen and Buccaneers renewed rivalry that had been established in the days of Athlone RFC. It was coincidentally played on the 5th anniversary to the day of the passing of the late Michael Scallon who sponsored the cup in the 1960’s mostly due to great friendships he had formed with players from Athlone that he met while in Newbridge College in the 1940’s.

The game itself was an eventful clash of two proud rugby philosophies, the Ulster side having a very resolute well drilled defence while the swashbuckling Pirates were more attack focused with fast ruck ball to our wide attackers being the priority. The game ended up 4 tries to 3 in favour of the home side with multiple scoring chances spurned by the somewhat experimental Midlanders squad who in actual fact the Pirates crossed the line twice only to be called back by the ref. The move of the game, involving every Buccs player on the pitch, was finished off by lock forward Cian McCann, sprinting down the wing again. The full time score 26 – 19 was a fair reflection of this event filled sporting game played on what is one of Ireland’s highest altitude rugby pitches which on the day had a constant gale force wind blowing away from the clubhouse end goalposts . Congratulations to Enniskillen RFC on retaining the Scallon Cup.

It was a throughly enjoyable game. The crowd in attendance really appreciated the spectacle and the fact the cup is being played for again for the first time since 1981 only added to the post-match celebrations, which included an Irish Triple Crown victory over Scotland that was enjoyed by a full Enniskillen RFC clubhouse. Everyone from Buccaneers really enjoyed the gracious and generous hospitality received from our hosts and their supporters.

BUCCANEERS:- C.Naughton; K.Foxe, T.Shine (captain), K.Kiripati, O.Burgess; M.Byrne, L.Duane; C.Malone, E.Gallagher, K.Egan; C.McCann, L.Fallon; D.Fitzgerald, J.Henson and L.Balsiger. Replacements:- L.Laoshvilli, S.Kroupa, R.Fallon, S.Fogarty, S.Mahdi Fatimi, D.Elangovan, A.Flanagan, A.O’Carroll, K.Connolly and A.Quinn.