The revived Exiles fixture commemorating Pat Hynes at Buccaneers RFC served up high-scoring and entertaining fare on a cool but dry St. Stephen’s Day at Dubarry Park where a final move of the game try by Harry Hughes edged the Exiles to a 42-38 victory over the President’s side.

The Exiles also commenced the scoring with MJ Magele touching down, soon to be followed by Hughes’ first try. Tony Ward opened the President’s account with a try to which David Fineau replied. Keelan Connolly’s try for the black-shirted President’s men reduced his side’s halftime arrears to 21-12.

David Fagan narrowed the margin to just two points soon after the interval but Hughes, who notched a hat-trick, scored following a fine cross field kick. Fagan kept his side in it with his second touchdown and when he completed his hat-trick shortly afterwards the President’s standard bearers took the lead for the first time at 31-28.

Alex Hayman, rolling back the years, then stretched their advantage to ten points but the yellow jerseyed Exiles finished the stronger, spurred on by Fineau’s second try and Hughes sealed victory with his last gasp try to snatch victory from the jaws of defeat.

Two fathers and sons played, Kolo Kiripati and son Nato and Diarmuid Morrissey and son Conor, which may be a first in this event! Both were on opposing sides, Morrissey senior exchanging whistling duties to join the action in the second half with Dermot Hallahan taking up the referee role. Micky Carroll and Martin Webster were team managers and Carroll presented the Cup to victorious skipper Kolo Kiripati. Overall, it proved a great evening that will surely become an established festive fixture at the club.

One minute’s silence in memory of those who had passed in 2023 was respectfully observed prior to kick-off.

EXILES:- Kolo Kiripati, Martin Staunton, Niall Harney, Fionn McDonnell, Conor Morrissey, Gerard Fallon, Wesley Hudson, Eoghan Slevin, Harry Hughes, David Fineau and MJ Magele.

PRESIDENT’S SELECTION:- Alex Hayman, Sean Flynn, Keelan Connolly, David Fagan, Tony Ward, Sam Fogarty, Nato Kiripati, Darragh Kelly, Richie Breen, Riaan Erasmus and Diarmuid Morrissey.

Referees:- Diarmuid Morrissey and Dermot Hallahan.