Three young rising stars of Buccaneers RFC have been named in the Ireland squad for the forthcoming Six Nations U-20 Championship which will have an unusual format in that it all takes place in Cardiff commencing on Saturday next. Centre Shane Jennings, flanker Oisin McCormack and lock Darragh Murray are the Pirates trio included in coach Richie Murphy’s 34 player panel, six of whom are from Connacht.

Athlone native and Buccaneers member Feargal O’Rourke, PwC Ireland Managing Partner, commented: “It’s heartening to finally see the U-20s back in action after a very challenging year. The dedication and team-work that the U-20s show is always exceptional and mirrors our own values at PwC. I wish all the teams every success in Cardiff for this unique summer Six Nations tournament, especially Ireland as they look to retain the Grand Slam title they claimed in 2019. We echo Feargal’s sentiments in wishing Ireland and Buccs trio continued success as they defend their title.

Ireland U20 Six Nations Fixtures 2021:-
(All games at Cardiff Arms Park)
• Scotland v Ireland, Saturday 19 June, 2pm
• Wales v Ireland, Friday 25 June, 8pm
• Ireland v England, Thursday 1 July, 8pm
• Italy v Ireland, Wednesday 7 July, 2pm
• Ireland v France, Tuesday 13 July, 4.45pm.

Ireland’s Jordan Conroy drives through the USA defense on day one of the Emirates Airline Dubai Rugby Sevens 2019 men’s competition on 5 December, 2019. Photo credit: Mike Lee – KLC fotos for World Rugby

Meanwhile Ireland Sevens are also in action this coming weekend as they are one of ten Mens teams vying to secure the last place at this summer’s Olympic Games in Japan. Ireland compete in the Repechage which takes place at Stade Louis 11 in Monaco. Their top try scorer Jordan Conroy of Buccaneers is a key performer in the 14 player squad captained by Billy Dardis. We wish Jordan and his teammates a successful weekend as they bid to secure that coveted Olympics spot.
Ireland Sevens Schedule, World Rugby Sevens Repechage:-
Saturday, 19 June:
• Ireland v Zimbabwe, 9.50am local time/8.5oam Irish time
• Ireland v Mexico, 12.12pm local time/11.12am Irish time
• Ireland v Tonga, 3.24pm local time/2.24pm Irish time
Sunday, 20 June:
• Ireland v Samoa, 1.17pm local time/12.17pm Irish time.
• The top two teams from each Pool progress through to the semi-finals. The final, with a ticket to Tokyo on the line, will take place at 7.07pm local time/6.07pm Irish time on Sunday, 20 June.