Buccaneers RFC Annual Player Awards event has a change of date to the bank holiday Friday, May 3rd at The Bounty. Player of the Year awards will be presented to the U-20’s, Seconds and Firsts with the latter winner receiving the Ray McLoughlin Perpetual Trophy won by Ruairi Byrne in its inaugural occasion last year.

The Connacht League triumphs of the victorious Seconds and U-20s squads will be celebrated while the club’s International representatives, notably Charlie O’Carroll and Jack Pollard, will be honoured and the Club Person of the Year will be presented with the Michael Hanley Memorial Perpetual Cup.

Presentations will be made to a venerable trio – Martin Staunton, Shane Layden and Danny Qualter – who are all retiring after long and chequered careers with the Pirates.

This year it will be a less formal event although smart/casual is dress code and promises to be a lively and enjoyable occasion. BBQ + live music. Partners and family members are welcome. Tickets €30 each can be purchased by contacting our Administrator Geraldine at 0861732711.