BUCCANEERS U-20’s wrested the Scallon Cup from Enniskillen when they proved much too strong for the northerners when winning 59-5 at Dubarry Park on Sunday. On a bright, warm afternoon, the Pirates quickly assumed control and were much the sharper outfit in front of new U-20’s head coach David McAllister.

With both teams fielding new look squads it was hard to know what to expect but two tries in the opening ten minutes for the home side dictated the pattern of this contest. A fine Andrew Quinn touch gave Buccs the platform to open their account, Nodo Guliashvili finishing off some patient play for a 5th minute try. Lovely handling between Quinn and Leon Cassidy then sent Cormac Lyons racing through for their second try to put the Pirates 14-0 ahead.

A barrelling run by Lyons set up Yishai Avrahami’s 20th minute touchdown and the fullback was instrumental in the next try too, making massive ground before offloading to Jack Clarke for a try. Caleb Smerdon was next to score, showing blistering pace to forge another excellent try. With “kicking king” Quinn flawless with conversions, Buccaneers led 35-0 at halftime.

Smerdon dived over for his second try following the change of ends and Clarke notched his second shortly afterwards. Quinn got in on the try-scoring act too before Harry Dane’s try earned some consolation for the Ulster side who continued to battle against the tide. Aaron Burke completed the scoring availing of Tiernan Burke’s offload to grab Buccs ninth try.

Fullback Lyons stood out for the winners whose backline, who scored all the home tries apart from the opener, was much too slick for Skins. Quinn excelled at scrumhalf while skipper Fionn McDonnell led his pack well.

BUCCANEERS:- C.Lyons; L.Cassidy, Y.Avrahami, C.Smerdon, F.Lyons; J.Clarke, A.Quinn; O.O’Donoghue, K.Devaney, N.Guliashvili; F.McDonnell (captain), L.Giles; A.Burke, L.Meechan and R.Goldin. Replacements used:- K.Connolly, A.Saka, M.Forde, C.Jackson, D.Flynn, J.Cassidy, T.Burke and F.McLoughlin.

ENNISKILLEN:- E.McKeown; H.Kerr, H.Elliott, K.Davis, T.Harte; D.Love, H.Dane; A.Breen, D.Scallon, J.Ross; J.Elliott, D.Kathro; H.Hutchinson, A.Seaman and A.J.Martin (captain). Replacements:- C.Smith, J.Ross, J.Baird, M.Conlon, L.Burns, N.Quigley, E.Love, J.Woods, C.Hill and E.Greene.

Referee:- D.Connolly (Connacht).